Tragic Auto Crashes Claim Lives in Lagos and Abuja

Spread the love

A series of devastating auto accidents occurred in Lagos and Abuja, resulting in numerous fatalities and injuries. On the Lagos-Badagry expressway, a 24-seater passenger bus collided with a stationary trailer, leading to the death of 15 passengers, including the driver and motorboy, while nine others remain in critical condition.

In a separate incident in Dutse Baupma, Abuja, another auto crash claimed three lives and left four others critically injured, according to the FCT Police Command.

The Lagos accident, caused by overspeeding and brake failure, occurred at a spot called Agemowo near Mowo on the Lagos-Badagry highway. The passengers on board had chartered the bus from Yaba in Lagos to attend a group party in the Republic of Benin. Rescue teams arrived at the scene to recover the bodies and provide medical assistance to the injured victims.

The Lagos State Emergency Management Authority (LASEMA) confirmed that 15 individuals lost their lives in the tragic accident. The injured were taken to the General Hospital Badagry for treatment, with one of them later succumbing to their injuries.

In the Abuja accident, which took place near the Tipper Garage, three individuals died, and four others sustained critical injuries. The deceased have been identified as Hosea Stephen, Muhammad Lawal, and Bashir Shaibu. The injured parties, Maria Ibeku, Ebuka Eleodimuo, Joy Adebayo, and Bashir Haruna, are currently receiving treatment at Kubwa General Hospital. The FCT Police Command expressed condolences to the affected families and stated that an investigation is underway.

The vehicles involved in both accidents have been cleared from the road and taken to the police station for further investigation.

These tragic incidents serve as a reminder of the importance of safe driving practices and adherence to traffic regulations to prevent further loss of life on the roads.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *