10th NASS: Voting begins as lawmakers elect Senate President

Spread the love

The voting process to elect the principal officers of the Senate has commence on the floor of the Nigerian Senate as the 10th National Assembly is set to be inaugurated today (Tuesday).

Senator Ali Ndume nominated Senator Godswill Akpabio and the nomination supported by Senator Olamilekan Solomon Yayi from Ogun state.

Similarly, Senator Ishaku Abbo put forward Senator Abdul Aziz Yari as Senate President.

The nominations were received for Yari and Akpabio after which the Clerk of the Senate declared nominations closed in the absence of further nominations.

The contest is now between Yari, a former governor of Zamfara State and Akpabio, a former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs and ex-governor of Akwa Ibom State.

The lawmakers are presently voting according to their respective states.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *